Formerly Laccadive, renamed Lakshadweep in 1973, the archipelago consist of 36 coral islands in the Arabian Sea, about 185 miles (300 km) off the Kerala coast.

With a total land area of 12 square miles (32 square km), the islands form the smallest of the Union Territories of India and the country's only coral islands.

This charming isolated destination has only 10 of its islands inhabited.

They are Minicoy, Andrott, Kavaratti, Kadmat, Agatti, Amini, Kalpeni, Kiltan, Chetlat and Bitra The spell bound expanse of emerald isles, Lakshadweep, studded in the blue water of the Arabian sea unfolds another world in itself. 

The panorama encompasses magnificent lagoons, sylvan sea shores, miles of sun drenched sand and the enchantment of swaying palms, spectacular marine flora and fauna, All these harmonise to form a colourful kaleidoscope typical of an archipelago paradise.

Four of the inhabited islands (Kavaratti, Kalpeni, Minicoy and Kadmat) are open mostly to Indian tourists and Bangaram, an uninhabited island, is open to both domestic and foreign tourists. 

Water sports facilities like swimming, Rafting, snorkeling, windsurfing, parasailing, water skiing, catamaran sailing, deep sea fishing and scuba diving are available in the islands.


Click here to find out more destinations in Lakshadweep